Off and Running

It’s been about a week since I threw my hat into the ring and announced my candidacy for Oak Harbor City Council (pos 1), and what a week it has been! This week I will focus on blogging and spending time filling in all the info on my Facebook fan page to let people know what I’m about.

First and foremost, the amount of support and encouragement I’ve received has been absolutely overwhelming. Five of Oak Harbor’s sitting council members have gone out of their way to wish me luck and offer advice on my campaign, as well as the work that will follow once I’m in office. The universal sentiment seems to be that the current council lacks diversity. Another source of enthusiastic support is coming from fellow OHHS alumni. People I went to high school with (many of whom no longer live in the area) are coming out of the wood-work to offer donations as well as help with campaigning, graphic design, etc. They are excited to finally see someone they can relate to getting involved in local politics. My demographic is currently unrepresented in our local government, and I aim to change that.

A little about me: My family moved to Oak Harbor from Japan (via the US Navy) in 1985. I’ve  seen a fair amount of this country and the world, and nowhere I’ve been can compare to the splendor of Whidbey Island. Those of you who went to Oak Harbor High School in the 90’s (or had children who did) would know me as Tara Wentland.

Currently, I am a technical/business writer and owner of Lightworks Communications, LLC. I also spent 8 years driving all over Island county as a Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser. I love being a writer, but it’s my volunteer work that really fulfills me.

I am currently involved with:

The Whidbey Playhouse – Both onstage and off. I sit on the WPH Board of Directors and I perform in as many shows as they will let me. If you frequent the WPH, you most recently saw me in The Philadelphia Story and Chicago.

Oak Harbor High School – Specifically, their choral program. The OHHS choir kids are exceptional young people and working with them is a privilege and a delight. I’ve helped build/paint their sets, worked as a stage manager for shows, chaperoned field trips–including a tour to Oregon–and even hosted one of their end-of-the-year parties in my backyard.

Whidbey Animals Improvement Foundation – When W.A.I.F gets over-crowded, I foster litters of kittens in my home until they are old enough to be adopted.

Let’s see, what else? I’m a member of the Surfrider Foundation, donate blood every chance I get, and my company regularly donates a portion of our profits to local groups and causes such as the North Whidbey Help House, and Habitat For Humanity.

Hopefully, this blog will help those who don’t know me feel a bit more acquainted with who I am and what I represent. Please post a comment and ask me any questions you might have.

Until next time,

~Tara

One comment on “Off and Running

  1. Love the look of your blog! Well done. I’ll keep following and I look forward to reading your views.

Leave a Reply

